top of page
Hi There
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

I'm Talor! But you don't need to know that to know a good recipe when you see one. Unless it's an alcohol pairing or ingredient suggestion, you're not going to hear it. 

food blog

O.K.

Pretty Good Award

2017

Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts

A Case For Living Without A Microwave


Before you disregard this post on account of my apparent insanity, hear me out.... I have lived without a microwave for nearly 6 months and I'm not sure, if given the chance, I would ever turn back. At my old house I had a nice microwave that got used daily but it was left during my move, in a quest to start fresh. I got rid of a lot of things; unused bakeware, things of which I had multiples, things that took up too much space, unitaskers, extra and mismatched dishes, things that were broken or too dirty to be salvaged, and so on. My microwave fell into many of these categories: It was not big by any means but when you have limited space to begin with it just seems to get in the way and become a rest stop for homeless items. On top of that, I found that while I thought I was short on time, I really never had so little time that I couldn't heat a pot or double boiler over the stove or fire up the oven for a quick meal. My microwave was endlessly dirty. No matter how much I scrubbed and washed and deodorized, my little until smelled like burnt popcorn, was splattered with food particles, and had an allover grimey feel from the oils that are in daily use in my very cramped kitchen. All of this, not to mention all the recent studies on adverse impacts to health, helped make my decision.

In the end, I opted out of a microwave for my new home. In its place I invested in a Gibson Elite Rhinebeck Stoneware set that is flat-out amazing! They are not only dishwasher and microwave safe but they are OVEN SAFE!! I can easily pop my leftovers in the oven on one of the smaller "dessert" plates for around 15 mins and not have to dirty a pan as well. I have also used one of the small "fruit" bowls to melt butter over the stove in a small saucer, similar to a double broiler.

The best tools I have found for using the stovetop instead of a microwave for reheating food are the Pampered Chef Bamboo Serving Fork (shown above in middle) and a good set of nonstick cookware. The bamboo fork works perfectly to break part cooled food and to incorporate any ingredients you are adding to your dish while heating. I have also found that the fork is great at breaking up ground beef and will not scratch your nonstick pans like other sturdy utensils.

Now, on to the glory of nonstick pans! Gravys, sauces, soups, oils, and just foods in general just seems to glide off each surface and into the intended destination with little to no residue. A quick water-only rinse, right after use, usually gets the dish clean enough for the dishwasher. The one con I have found for nonstick pans is the scratch potential. I had a roommate at one time that was a very violent cook. He always used metal spatulas and spoons, as well as regular silverware, to cook which scratched the heck out of my nice pans. Eventually, I stopped using my own favorite cookware due to the black nonstick coating breaking off into the food. When I moved, I took the least damaged pieces, invested in nonstick replacements, and a good wooden utensil set. The only metal I use is a ladle for dipping out sauces and soups and a small whisk. I have noticed no damage since the switch.

The thing my old microwave was used for the most was reheating leftovers but the one complaint I had about zapped food was the funky taste and rubbery textures the meals would take on after a few minutes of quick heat. Noodles and pizza would become stiff, potatoes and veggies would go limp, white chicken meat takes on a doggish flavor and dries out. I tried adding the recommended splash of water to starchy foods or ones that could be steamed into submission and added cream to ones that have stiff sauces, but nothing could make them taste close to fresh. It wasn't until I was forced to do without a microwave that I realized the full potential of my stove and oven. Now, I couldn't imagine doing it any different. Below is a flexible method to reheat nearly anything on the stove top.

In a small saucepan, pour in enough milk to

coat bottom and heat on medium.

Add your leftovers, let them warm then begin

breaking them apart with small fork or spatula,

incorporating ingredients into liquids.

Add more milk if needed.

Cover until hot, stirring occasionally.

The introduction of a fresh liquid, in this case milk, allows the dish to absorb some moisture that it might have lost while cooling down. Of course, milk will not work with every dish but a bit of marinara thinned with a dash of water, some broth, a few tablespoons of oil, will give life back to dead leftovers.

For meals that have a crusty base like my Egg & Sausage Gravy Casserole,or one that merely need to be heated without any extra liquid, you can turn to the oven. Here are some basic directions that have helped me:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place personal portion of leftovers on pan or in

oven-safe skillet and place on top rack.

Most items take around 10-15 minutes.

Watch your food closely and take

out immediately once you suspect it might be done.

Test and return to oven if needed.

All in all, cooking on the stove or in the oven can be a slow process, especially when cooking dense items like potatoes, but I find the wait to be calming, rewarding, and the best part: I eat less! Slowly stirring my food into a dash of milk over a warm stove, allowing something to simmer shortly while I clear the countertops and the sink, just taking a moment to let my mind wander while I wait for my meal. It is sometimes the only time I can truly meditate in an otherwise fast-paced day.

Happy Cooking!

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page