top of page
Hi There
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

I'm Talor! But you don't need to know that to know a good recipe when you see one. Unless it's an alcohol pairing or ingredient suggestion, you're not going to hear it. 

food blog

O.K.

Pretty Good Award

2017

Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts

Gift Ideas; Homemade Gift Baskets and Upcoming Post Review

My favorite gifts to give are the ones made by hand. Using local products like honey, butter, herbs, and fresh produce, I will spend hours in the kitchen whisking, whirring, stirring, chopping, simmering, and garnishing all types of goodies.

A few years ago, I started selling little gift boxes and baskets to family and friends around the holidays. It gave me great joy to be able to produce something so thoughtful in my own kitchen that could be passed on and enjoyed by someone else. I made flavored butters, fruit jams, mini banana loaves, irish soda rolls, and jalapeno cornbread bites.

Packaging your food at the right time, with high quality materials is the key to delivering fresh goodies. I get most of my packaging goods from the grocer or Hobby Lobby. Here are a few things I like to keep in my arsenal for basket gifting:

Windowed Cake or Treat Boxes

Parchment Paper

Cling Wrap

Small Cellophane Bags

Small Craft Paper Bags

4 oz. and 8 oz. Ball Jars

Some Craft Filler or Gift Tissue Paper

For decorative purposes I like to scavenge local craft and discount stores like Michael's and T.J.Maxx to stock up on the following:

Neutral Baskets

Decorative and Rustic Tea Towels

Colorful Ribbon and Baker's Twine

Fabric Scraps and Craft Paper for Topping Jams or Wrapping Loaves

Craft Tags for Labeling and Instructions

Small Decorative Notepads or Other Neutral Filler Gifts

Stamps, Archive Ink, and No-Run Pens for Labels

After some trial, error, a swarm of angry knats (forgotten bananas), and lots of jam frustration, the heavens broke and I was able to consistently create a product that would satisfy my customers.

I have already posted a recipe for the Irish soda rolls but keep your eyes peeled for the other goodies seen here. You will be throwing your own gift baskets together in no time! Cheers!

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page